Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

News Release


Jones Lang LaSalle Storms to Victory at UK National Surveyors’ Rugby Sevens 2011

London, 17th May 2011Jones Lang LaSalle successfully beat off the competition at the 2011 UK National Surveyors’ Rugby Sevens tournament, with the team winning all five of their qualifying matches to be crowned unbeaten champions.

Group stages involved a comprehensive win against Capita Symonds, a hammering victory over CBRE and a solid win against Savills in the last leg of group qualifiers.  In the quarter finals Jones Lang LaSalle was up against Chesterton Humberts and produced another convincing win.  The semi final was a tough game against tournament favourite RICS Matrics, but yet again the team pulled off a superb win.  In the final, pitted against King Sturge, Jones Lang LaSalle maintained their energy and rose to the challenge to win the game and the cup.

Patrick Freestone, captain of the Jones Lang LaSalle’s Rugby Sevens team said:  “What a fantastic day!  An outstanding performance by everyone involved. Like any team game it is difficult to single out players in what was a real team effort however I would like to congratulate Tom Hupfiled as player of the tournament and our leading try scorer Stewart Arbuckle.  Thank you as well to the Jones Lang LaSalle fan base who provided us with continuous support throughout the day.”

Andrew Hynard, Chairman of Jones Lang LaSalle England commented: “We are all thrilled that the team played so well.  This victory was a long time coming – the last time we won the tournament was in 1977 as Jones Lang Wootton so that makes it even more special.  Congratulations to everyone on the team!”

Memorable moments from the team on the day include Tom Curry’s outstanding assist record and Henry Fellow's winning try in the last seconds of the semi-finals against the tournament favourite RICS Matrics.  A special mention must go to John Woodger and Tom Hupfield who played on with a fractured arm and metatarsal respectively.

The Jones Lang LaSalle Rugby Sevens team comprised:  Patrick Freestone (captain), Richard Mortimer, Joe Guilfoyle, Ben Cossey, Ed Owen, Adam Mursal, Tom Hupfield, Tom Curry, Stewart Arbuckle, Charlie Wade, Henry Fellows, John Woodger.