Skip Ribbon Commands
Skip to main content

JLL Property Predictions 2016: Midlands

​​JLL hosted its annual Midlands Property Predictions on Monday 18th January 2016.  The Birmingham Hippodrome was the venue for the event where our experts shared their predictions for the property market.

Jon Neale, Head of Research UK gave an economic overview followed by a panel of experts who gave their thoughts on what to expect across the property sector.

Our predictions for the year ahead are detailed below.

Planning

Peter Leaver, Director – Planning & Development

T: +44 (0)121 214 9970
E: peter.leaver@eu.jll.com

Politics – Housing crisis, what housing crisis?

Policy – Lots of new initiatives

Process – Unintended consequences and a regional dimension

​Residential

Richard Roberts, Associate Director – Residential

T: +44 (0)121 634 6508
E. richard.roberts@eu.jll.com 

​Tiered housing land market to continue

Delivery to fall way short of Government targets

Regeneration initiatives fuel growth in city centre demand

​Retail

Ryan Kennedy, Director - Retail and Leisure

T: +44 (0)207 318 7884
E. ryan.kennedy@eu.jll.com  

​Resurgence

Relevance

Prime and Secondary Polarisation

​Industrial

Carl Durrant, Director - Industrial and Logistics

T: +44 (0)121 214 9950
E: carl.durrant@eu.jll.com   

​Robust demand

Rental growth/ constrained supply

Speculative development sub 100,000 sq ft urban / online logistics labour

Offices

Jonathan Carmalt, Director – National Office Agency

T: +44 (0)121 214 9935
E: jonathan.carmalt@eu.jll.com  

​Rental Growth – to occur in both the in and out of town office markets

Take-up levels – will continue ahead of the 5 & 10 year averages

Start of speculative office construction – in the out-of-town office market

East Midlands

Matthew Smith, Lead Director - Nottingham

T: +44 (0)115 908 2123
E: matthew.smith@eu.jll.com

​Increased City Centre office demand

Supply shortage driving rental growth

Commitment to speculative development

Capital Markets

Allan Wilson Director - Capital Markets

T: +44 (0)121 214 9941
E: allan.wilson@eu.jll.com  

​More balanced market in 2016

Pause in investment volumes

More development funding